top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristina Carter

Could Paul's Thorn Have Been PTSD?

Definition of post-traumatic stress disorder

: a psychological reaction occurring after experiencing a highly stressing event (such as wartime combat, physical violence, or a natural disaster) that is usually characterized by depression, anxiety, flashbacks, recurrent nightmares, and avoidance of reminders of the event —abbreviation PTSD

Paul shipwrecked

Obviously, we don't know exactly what Paul's thorn was. The bible never clearly says what it is. Many believe it was bodily (blindness being the main one I have heard). But I wanted to look into this for myself, and so I did several months ago. I have always been someone who looks and studies things on my own rather than to just trust what I have always been told or taught. I wanted to see if after a study could it be that his thorn was more of a mental/psychological battle rather than a physical one.


2 Corinthians 12:7-10

And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure. For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me. And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee; for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distress for Christ's sake; for when I am weak, then am I made strong.


Thorn - a bodily annoyance, or disability


This thorn was is something that came on Paul, how...we don't know. It doesn't say. But we can clearly see that it was given to him by God to keep him from being "exalted above measure". Strongs Concordance says this definition for that statement.


1) to lift or raise up over some thing 2) to lift one's self up, be exalted, be haughty 3) to carry one's self haughtily to, behave insolently towards one


Paul asked God to remove whatever this thorn was 3 different times, and God said no. God simply said "My grace is sufficient, and my strength is made perfect in weakness".


Paul's response to this was that he would take pleasure in his infirmities.


Pleasure - to think well of

Infirmities - Feebleness (of body and mind)


We also see that this thorn that Paul has, he describes as a messenger of Satan to buffet him.


Buffet - to strike with the fist, give one a blow with the fist, to maltreat, treat with violence and contumely


Contumely - to treat with haughtiness or contempt, insolent


Insolent - showing a rude and arrogant lack of respect.


I do believe anxiety to be a physical illness (the brain is part of our physical body too), even though it is classified as a mental illness. But there are those that believe it to be a complete spiritual issue. I believe it can have spiritual aspects to it for sure, but not that it is 100% spiritual, and that not trusting God brings it on, or keeps in happening.


Paul was GIVEN this thorn by God, not only to keep him humble but so God could show his grace, strength, and power through Paul through this thorn. God allowed Paul to go through this pounding, not to better Paul, not so that Paul would have to suffer...but so that Paul could be a picture of grace.


The reason why I wonder if his thorn could have been PTSD is because of the many things he had been through in the past.


5x he received 40 stripes, save one.

3x he was beaten with rods.

1x was he stoned.

3x he was shipwrecked

He was forsaken by Demas

He spent 1 day, and 1 night in the sea

He went through the wilderness, hunger, thirst, nakedness, robbers, false brethren...


There is no doubt that Paul had it rough. And I don't even think rough is even the right word. Paul has this thorn...its a struggle for him. He wants God to take it away. He doesn't want it anymore. But God has told him no each time. God wants to use this thorn. God has a purpose for this thorn. When you see all that Paul has been through, to see him accept what God has told him, to see an attitude change from "take it away" to accepting what God has laid on him, and to see that he says he will "pleasure" (think well of) his infirmities. He said that he would gladly glory in his infirmities too.


Glory - to glory (whether with reason or without), to glory on account of a thing, to glory in a thing, to boast


Glory (dictionary definition) - take great pride or pleasure in.


Boast - talk with excessive pride and self-satisfaction about one's achievements, possessions, or abilities.


Paul in this context is not boasting of himself, but rather of Christ who has given him strength, and power. Paul is glorying in his inabilities so that others can see that God is able to carry you through your thorn, your disabilities...your struggles. Whatever battle, or struggle you are facing we can have the attitude Paul has. All of us have more than likely at one time or another begged God to take away our anxiety, our PTSD, our depression. But God's plan may not be for it to be taken away. God has a use for what you are going through. Do you boast of how Christ works in your life through your infirmities? Do you share with others how God has brought you through another attack yet again? Do you thank God for where he has placed you? How about your attitude in your circumstances? (Yeah, that one hurts.)


We see in Philippians 4 that Paul shows us what attitude and perspective we should have.


Philippians 4:11-12

Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.


That is a hard verse to live! But Paul, having been through so much, and knowing that God has a plan for him. He has learned to be content with wherever God has placed him, and with whatever God has placed on him.


So, did Paul suffer from PTSD...I can't say with certainty, obviously. Do I believe it is possible...absolutely. But I do believe that God has a lesson in this for us that do suffer with a mental illness ( I really don't like that term...just me. No offense meant). I believe that there are times that God places something on you, whether its to bring you closer to him, or to show others Christ through your circumstances. It may not be his will to ever take it away. But we have to learn to get to where Paul was "in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content". Its hard to learn to be content with something that is so hard to have in your life, but with God's help, we can.


Paul talked about his infirmities with others, he didn't hide them, or avoid them. He told how Christ has given grace, strength, and perspective IN his infirmities. Don't be afraid to speak about yours, and how God has moved in them!

137 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page