top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristina Carter

"I Have A Friend"

It's been a long time since God has given me a poem. This one flooded my mind so fast that I had to go running to find a notebook and pen. This poem speaks my heart. Its speaks of the reality of a life with anxiety, but also speaks of how God has comforted me as I go through them. There is a friend that sticks closer than a brother, and He has NEVER failed to be there for me...even in my darkest days.



It's getting hard to breathe My heart begins to race Shallow breaths and shaking hands The tears stream down my face.


My mind is running wild And my thoughts go faster than I can think I'm sweating and I'm chilled They say I must be weak.


For minutes that seems to pass as years I feel as though I'll die There is no real danger here But my body believes a lie.


Exhaustion now takes over My bed is my new best friend It understands my journey And it always welcomes me in.


This battle of anxiety is so very real But so misunderstood We walk alone many times No one would share it even if they could.


But I have a friend who's always there He shares in all I go through He walks me through my darkest days And gives me strength to go.


Even through my worst attacks He's given peace beyond measure He understands and he knows He wipes away tears with pleasure.


If all the world were to walk away Despite my anxiety and my fears My Lord Jesus will still be here I will still have whom I hold dear.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page